Pippa Bacca

I tend to read the news too often.  Maybe I read it too much to be really hit by anything, but I came across this article today in the NY Times.  I know that people are killed everyday, but reading this I started to cry.

Talked with a friend today, and ironically, about killing.  The difference between killing and murder.  He has to tell himself that killing and murder are two different things, and maybe they are, for the person who ends the life.  For the person who is dead, what did the intention matter? Death is death.  Again I come back to ether, and I am beginning to see how truly difficult it must have been to disprove something so ephemeral.  Without ether, where is God? This all-present substance was God, in a way, and it never existed.

Did the man who murdered Pippa Bacca realize what her mission was, why she was in a wedding dress, and where she was headed? Did she tell him, did he ask?  I don’t know that his intention mattered, she’s still dead.  Is Pippa’s death different than the death of a woman who isn’t journeying on a peace mission?  I’m not sure that it is.  Still, the idea of murdering someone while they attempt to carry a message of peace and harmony seems especially vile.

The article says that hitchhiking was an important part of the performance.  That trust in someone unknown was important.  After her death, fellow artist Silvia Moro wants to continue what they began, but I don’t know if she’ll be able to.  And by that I mean, if I were her, I don’t know that I would be able to.  Each car she gets into, part of her will have to think, what if it’s me this time?  Again, pure speculation, and I can only react as I would react.  That if I were part of this, every car I got into I would wonder if it would be the last.  And what desperate hope and faith she must have if she continues.  I usually think performance art is a bit narcissistic, silly, and pointless.  This performance art is beautiful and important.  If Silvia is able to continue her mission/performance, I hope that those her path crosses will protect her and that she will be able to trust again.

I do not know these artists, and I doubt I ever will.  But they are beautiful and risked everything.  I wish I were so brave, and I wish I didn’t know about this because of Pippa’s death.

(Image from NY Times)

Pippa Bacca

Please Leave Blank.

