Writing Retreat

Auggie and Lou Lou

What wonders a weekend away from home will do.

Thus far I have: worked on the cover for Nicelle’s Circe, made significant progress on my sonnet sequence for Formal Inquiry, worked on a few other pen and ink drawings, attempted to play with cats, reread several of the essays in Stigmata and listened to the new Radiohead album entirely too many times.  Add to that mix a productive and entertaining Heroes board meeting, seeing a few good friends, climbing for a few hours and a quick walk beneath the bright cold sun… also a fireplace that turns on with the flick of a switch.  It’s been a good few days.

This weekend retreat came at a good time.  A friend recently asked me “What’s the best book you’ve ever read?” and I have to say I didn’t have a single answer.  I have favorite books, books I consider old friends and books I can always turn to for inspiration, but what do you mean by “best”? If he meant best by way of plot, I’m completely lost.  In trying to answer I found myself walking through my library, brushing my fingers against spines, my body full of want–my shelves have accumulated too much dust and it’s time to dive back in.

There’s so much coming up.  There’s Barnstorm, there’s Formal Inquiry, there’s the Heroes project that I’m starting to spearhead, there’s the journal I already have that I still have to send back to Alison.  Books to read, poems to write, walls to climb.  Have I been asleep?  I’m stretching awake again, brewing coffee and headed into morning.

 

One thought on “Writing Retreat

  1. Dust off those favorites! Hate when someone asks to pick one favorite book…too
    difficult to decide, too many to name, some familiar, some new, and a few unforgettable!
    How nice! A whole weekend to write. What a luxury…I’m jealous!

Please Leave Blank.

