And I’m feeling good.

Snow is currently blanketing the East Coast, but you couldn’t know it by looking at the weather in Seattle.  It was a brilliantly sunny day today, tempered by a bit of clouds and a light drizzle towards the end.  It isn’t spring yet, but it feels like we’re at a cusp of sorts.  Or maybe it’s just me.

I’ve had a few people tell me recently that my blog is sad.  I don’t mean it to be, and I was a bit surprised that I’d come across as such.  I find so much beauty in the world, and so much joy.  I don’t discount the difficulties, but I am not overwhelmed by them.  Maybe I agree with Melville, “…there is no quality in this world that is not what it is merely by contrast. Nothing exists in itself. If you flatter yourself that you are all over comfortable, and have been so a long time, then you cannot be said to be comfortable anymore.”  I embrace what is difficult or painful because it makes the joyous things that much more vivid.

So here is a list of things for February that make me smile, because I laugh easily and often, and I don’t know that I say that enough.

Book Club, with C. P., W. B., and A. B.  When you have found a group of friends that think it’s cool to re-read Moby Dick, even though that isn’t the book for the week, you know you are lucky.  When that group also gets together every two weeks to discuss poetry and craft and writing and book stores and the finer points of gelato….

International Travel. Though I won’t be going anywhere, I get to share my city this month with a friend I wasn’t sure I’d see again.

Dancing. Thank you Tost, for having funk on Thursday nights. Thank you Seamonster, for having funk on Fridays. Thank you kitchen for having a floor that is easy to spin on and speakers for playing music I can’t help but move to. Thank you house mates for dancing with me and letting the music play loudly.

Photo booths. A certifiable weakness, I will spend the three dollars without fail, and walk away happy every time, especially with good friends crammed in beside me.

To conclude, here is something to make you (dear reader!) smile. I take myself seriously, I know.  But that does not mean I’m afraid to laugh at myself as well.

One thought on “And I’m feeling good.

  1. Ok, how is your hair so curly in those photos??? Jealous…. how come our shared DNA didn’t work that way for me?
    Also- those photos make me think of the TV show Roswell…. and how much fun we had obsessing over it, even though it wasn’t a very good show. Good times.

Please Leave Blank.

