the kindness of others

Today I went to see Peggy Shumaker read.  She read last night with Ann Carson, a reading I had to miss because it sold out.  A reading sold out.  Yup.  That aside, Peggy read wonderfully, and I’m glad I went.  She read a new piece, some work from Blaze,” but the majority of the reading came from “Just Breathe Normally.” Just Breathe Normally cover After the reading, I went to the student store to grab food with Kaite.  On our way back, Peggy and Maurya Simon were walking to Peggy’s car.  We stopped to chat, and thank Peggy for her lovely reading.  And Peggy handed each of us a copy of her book!  I wanted to buy it, especially after the reading, but there she was, reaching into the box she was loading into her car, and handing it to me.  She signed it and everything.  So kind.  Someday, I will have a book, and I will return the favor.  If not to Peggy (though that’d be really nice, to find her again and send her a copy) to a student in my place.

I should have known it was going to be a good day when I walked outside and it was absolutely beautiful.  I finally remembered to grab my camera and snap some photos, though I think I missed the snow on the mountains.  It was warm enough today to get a bit sunburnt while reading on my back patio, and though there was snow in the morning, by the time I returned to campus for Peggy’s reading, either the mists came in or the snow had (finally) melted.  Sad.  The white peak of the mountain from the balcony on the fourth floor has been reassuring these past few weeks.  Here are some poppies, from outside the police sub-station, and the sun as it dies around 5 o’clock against the trees in front of the new building.  We even had the first part of seminar outside, four women sitting on  a strange but perfect cement stoop behind the new building.   Poppiesbacklit trees

One thought on “the kindness of others

Please Leave Blank.

